Promotional – Jake Pettit – Week 10 PPJ

Towards the beginning of the week I worked on preparing promo cards to be handed out at the tech event that happened on Sunday, as well as to Ange and Len. To save money on printing, we wanted to have all of the information on the front, which took some playing with to make it all work. I made a few options (some more incomplete than others, and some 2 sided) for members of the group to choose from. We ended up going with the one shown even further below.

Screen Shot 2018-03-13 at 1.56.17 AM
Promo Card Options
256@4x
Chosen Promo Card

While I ended up just getting the card printed at Staples, I also did another test print on watercolor paper that a previous student used for a project. Unfortunately I do not have a good picture of it, but it worked well. It made all of the colors darker, but the words are very crisp. Still not the hanging canvas we originally wanted, but that is seeming like it probably will not be likely a the print center.

I also created a quick test animation, which was originally supposed to be for the explorer energy type. However, it came out too complicated looking, but a variation of it might look nice in the background of the energy projection to ground the image a bit more.

ezgif.com-optimize (2)

The later half of my work this week came from meeting with Ange and Len, and taking video of them for the interview videos. Because they are large and I can’t upload videos here is a clip from the many that we got with Ange. My parents and I ended up eating dinner there that night, so I was able to get a time lapse of the restaurant on a crowded saturday night on my phone, which hopefully work nicely into the interview videos. Below is a gif Matt made of both the interview and time lapse together for the presentation this week.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

Finally, I worked on updating the promo video to be a bit more legible and use recent footage we have taken. That can be seen here. 

In the next couple of weeks, I will stop focusing on promo material (we just needed them this week), and return back to some physical exhibit poster designs.

Leave a comment